Cricket West Indies announces Kishore Shallow as new president in two-year contract – BJ Sports

West Indies Cricket Team. (Photo Source: Sydney Seshibedi/Gallo Images)

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has elected Dr. Kishore Shallow as the new president of the apex board whereas Azim Bassarath will take the reins as vice-president. Notably, Dr. Shallow takes over the duties from Ricky Skerritt, who headed the board for the last four years and decided to not seek another term with the CWI.

Furthermore, Dr. Shallow worked alongside Skerritt as the vice-president while Trinidad and Tobago Cricket board president, Azim Bassarath, will play the deputy role in the apex board to Shallow. CWI announced a two-year contract in place after completion of which the president and vice-president can mutually seek another term.

The 24th annual general meeting (AGM) was conducted on March 25 and the election process was one of the key aspects on the agenda held at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua. Bassarath expressed his delight on taking the new role whereas Dr. Shallow thanked the outgoing president for his contributions.

“On behalf of Cricket West Indies, I sincerely thank the outgoing President Ricky Skerritt for his latest contribution to our beloved cricket. He has served with distinction and pride in one of the most challenging periods in our lifetime, the COVID-19 pandemic. His tenure has certainly moved us in the right direction,” Dr. Shallow was quoted as saying by Windies cricket’s official website. 

“The resounding vote of confidence demonstrated by the shareholders is heartening. My profound gratitude to them and all the stakeholders for supporting me throughout the electoral process. As I embark on this new role with Vice President Bassarath, there is no delusion about the considerable workload. My philosophy remains one of unity and inclusivity. For it is only if we pool our resources and efforts together will West Indies cricket make any meaningful advancement as a cricket nation,” he added.

“It is indeed an honour to be elected to serve as the Vice President of Cricket West Indies and I look forward to working alongside Dr. Shallow and the other members of the Board of Directors as we continue the good work done by Mr. Skerritt for the benefit of everyone involved in West Indies Cricket,” told Bassarath.

Newly elected CWI member directors: Jason King (Barbados), Conde Riley (Barbados), Bissoondyal Singh (Guyana), Deleep Singh (Guyana), Donovan Bennett (Jamaica), Wilford Heaven (Jamaica), Enoch Lewis (Leeward Islands), Leon Rodney (Leeward Islands), Kerwin John (Trinidad and Tobago), Arjoon Ramlal (Trinidad and Tobago), Dwain Gill (Windward Islands), Carol Henry (Windward Islands).


For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Source link