Cricket Highlights, 22 Dec: BAN vs IND (2nd Test)

BAN vs IND (2nd Test) – Highlights

India and Bangladesh met in the last match of the 2 Test series at Mirpur on 22nd December. In that match, Bangladesh set a huge target after coming down to bat in the 1st innings. After that trial, India went to bat in the 1st innings and got the lead. In the 2nd innings, Bangladesh could not make a big target even if they played carefully. After that, India won the match in the 1st session of the 4th day by going to bat in the 2nd innings with that low target. As a result, they took the series as their own. On the other hand, Bangladesh has to be whitewashed by losing this match. Besides, Ravichandran Ashwin won the man of the match title and Cheteshwar Pujara won the man of the series title.

Bangladesh won the toss and chose to bat and invited India to bowl. Bangladesh got off to a good start after winning the toss. The Bangladesh team was gradually increasing the pace of runs with the bats of the two openers Zakir Hasan and Nazmul Hossain Shanto. But in the 15th over, the rhythm fell. Zakir scored 15 runs before getting out. In the next over, Nazmul Hossain Shanto was trapped in lbw by Ravichandran Ashwin. He scored 24 runs. Shakib Al Hasan was also hoping for something better. But he scored only 16 runs from 39 balls. Mushfiqur Rahim paired with Mominul Haque after Shakib got out. This pair was promising. The pair of 48 runs were also formed by the fluent batting of the two. But Bangladesh’s fourth wicket fell for 130 runs. Mushfiqur Rahim departed after scoring 26 runs.

After that, Mominul made a pair of 42 runs with Liton Das. But Liton left the field at 25. Mehidy Hassan Miraz wanted to stay on the wicket. But after playing 51 balls, he had to return in 15 runs. Nurul Hasan Sohan was LBW by Umesh Yadav for 6 runs. The right-handed pacer also took the wicket of Taskin Ahmed. Mominul Haque, who continues to fight at one edge, misses the opportunity for a century. Mominul scored 84 runs off 157 balls with 12 boundaries and one six. In the end, Shakib Al Hasan’s team was bundled out for 227 runs in 73.5 overs in the first innings of the Test.

In total, Umesh took 4 wickets for just 25 runs. 4 wickets for 71 runs by Ravichandran Ashwin.

Then Shakib Al Hasan’s team stopped India’s first innings at 314 runs in 86.3 overs. Rahul, who scored 10 runs off 45 balls, left the field first. After 2 overs, Shubman Gill returned to the dressing room with 20 runs. However, Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli formed a pair for the third wicket. Then Taijul also broke their pair of 34 runs off 94 balls in the 31st over of the innings. Pujara returned to the dressing room after scoring 24 runs. Then Kohli was the victim of Taskin Ahmed for a personal 24 runs. Then Rishav Pant and Shreyas Iyer made a big partnership of 159 runs for the fifth wicket. The Indian wicket-keeper batsman Rishav Pant (93) came back to the pavilion on the verge of a century. Bangladesh quickly picked up two more wickets after Pant got out. Axar Patel (4) and Shreyas Iyer, who raised chances of a century, made 87. Ashwin was lbw by Shakib for 12 runs. Umesh Yadav was the victim of Taijul with 14. Siraj returned for 7 runs.

Shakib Al Hasan and Taijul Islam took 4 wickets each for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh’s second innings ended at 231 runs in 70.2 overs. As a result, India had a target of 145 runs to win in the Mirpur Test. Liton Das scored the most runs for them. He scored 73 runs off 98 balls with the help of 7 fours. Besides, Zakir Hasan scored 51 runs, Nurul Hasan 31 runs, and Taskin Ahmed 31 runs.

Axar Patel took 3 wickets for India in the 2nd innings. Besides, Ravichandran Ashwin and Mohammad Siraj took 2 wickets each.

The target was just 145 runs. However, to achieve this small target, India lost 7 wickets under the attack of Bangladesh bowlers. Still, India ended all hopes and left the field with a 3-wicket win. Ravichandran Ashwin scored the most runs for India in that innings. He scored 42 runs off 62 balls with four fours and one six.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz took 5 wickets for 63 runs for India in the 2nd innings. Besides, Shakib took two wickets.

BAN vs IND Scoreboard

Bangladesh (1st innings) – 227/10 (73.5)

India (1st innings) – 314/10 (86.3)

Bangladesh (2nd innings) – 231/10 (70.2)

India (2nd innings) – 145/7 (47.0)

Result – India won by 3 wickets

Player of the match – Ravichandran Ashwin

Player of the series – Cheteshwar Pujara


BAN vs IND Playing XIs

BAN Shakib Al Hasan (c), Nurul Hasan (wk), Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mushfiqur Rahim, Khaled Ahmed, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed 
IND KL Rahul (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj

Source link