Cricket Highlights, 06 Nov: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 – Match 42 (ZIM vs IND) – BJ Sports

Between Zimbabwe vs India match,  after the fans witnessed Suryakumar Yadav’s devastating batting performance, they had to watch Zimbabwe’s innings which was a disaster. India won by 71 runs after setting a target of 187 runs for the opposition. Team India reached the semi-finals as the champions of Group 2. They have 8 points after winning 5 matches of Super Twelve. Pakistan is the runner-up of Group 2 with 6 points.

Suryakumar Yadav, the current sensation of T20 cricket, led the Indian innings by handling the abilities of the Zimbabwean bowlers well. Suryakumar was unbeaten on 61 off 25 balls. Later, the controlled bowling of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Ravichandran Ashwin wrapped up Zimbabwe’s innings for 111 runs.

Zimbabwe lost 2 wickets for 2 runs at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday (November 6) after coming down to chase the target. However, the Zimbabwean batters could not get out of this trend. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals to the bowling canon of the Indian bowlers.

Sean Williams (11) got back to the pavilion for the team’s 28 runs, Craig Ervine (13) for 31 runs, and Tony Munyonga (5) for 36 runs. Then Ryan Burl and Sikandar Raza together formed a resistance. Spinner Ashwin broke their pair while the team total was 96 runs. Burl returned to the dressing room with 35 off 22 balls. For the rest of the time, no one else could become Raza’s worthy companion.

Wellington Masakadza and Richard Ngarava were outscoring individuals for 1 run. Sikandar Raza returned the team total of 111 runs. He scored 34 runs off 24 balls. After that, Zimbabwe could not add any more runs to the scoreboard. Ashwin took the highest number of 3 wickets for India. Besides, Mohammed Shami and Hardik Pandya took 2 wickets each, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Axar Patel took 1 wicket each.

After winning the toss, India could not score any runs in the first over. All 6 balls of Richard Ngarava’s over were dots. Rohit Sharma opened the account of runs with a single in the fourth ball of the next over. They scored 18 runs at the end of 3 overs. Rohit departed in the fourth over. He scored 15 runs off 13 balls.

After playing a slow innings, Virat Kohli was caught near the boundary rope when the team total was standing at 87. Virat scored 26 off 15 balls, he was caught by Ryan Burl off Williams. Rishabh Pant (3) departed in the same over. Sikandar Raza picked up opener KL Rahul’s wicket just after he hit a six. The Indian opener scored 51 runs off 35 balls.

Then Suryakumar Yadav started the rampage. Courtesy of his innings, India overcame the small capital scare. This devastating batsman scored his half-century playing 23 balls. He was accompanied for some time by Hardik Pandya. Pandya was out for 18 runs. Suryakumar’s innings had 6 fours and 4 sixes.

Sean Williams scalped the highest number of 2 wickets for Zimbabwe. Besides, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani, and Sikandar Raza took 1 wicket each.

Pakistan will face Group 1 champions New Zealand in the tournament’s first semi-final on November 9. On the other hand, in the second semi-final of the tournament on November 10, India’s opponent will be Group 1 runners-up England.

India – 186/5 (20.0)

Zimbabwe – 115/10 (17.2)

Result – India won by 71 runs

Player of the match – Suryakumar Yadav

Cricket Highlights, 06 Nov: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 – Match 42 (ZIM vs IND)

ZIM vs IND Playing XIs

ZIM Craig Ervine (c), Regis Chakabva (wk), Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Tony Munyonga, Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Richard Ngarava, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, and Blessing Muzarabani.
IND Rohit Sharma (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Arshdeep Singh.

Source link